2018 in review

2018 in review

Every year I start my yearly recap with intentions of making it flowy and descript. As I try to recall everything that has happened this year, it’s quite a blur. However, I can testify that 2018 has offered me travel experiences, running memories, cycling achievements, and new beginnings (GRAD SCHOOL!) that have continuously shaped me into who I will be starting off as in 2019. This year has gifted me new friendships and strengthened existing ones. I’ve become a more grateful, more mindful, more persistent, and stronger person because of my experiences and support systems. Without further ado, let’s review…

Within the first week of January, southern NJ was hit with something they call a “bomb cyclone”. I still don’t know what this weather term defines, but I do know that I went out for a run in it. Classic me.

Being a Philadelphia Eagles fan in January became a very exciting time. Nick Foles became our hero.

I was picked as an Altra Ambassador for the 2nd year in a row. Altras are my favorite!

Josh got a new bike – the Rocky Mountain Element in smoke-on-the-water black. I’ve yet to be able to compete with the affection he shows for this bike.

I was offered an interview to my top choice for grad school which I scheduled immediately and as soon as possible. One step closer to following my dream.

On February 4th (everything good happens on the fourth day of each month & I have a whole list to prove it), the Philadelphia Eagles won the Super Bowl for the 1st time in team history. Completely shocked because these championships are few and very far between in Philly, I cried, I screamed, I banged pots & pans outside of Josh’s front door. What a time to be alive!

Four days later, I called out “sick” from work to go to the Super Bowl parade with millions of other Eagles fans. We parked haphazardly in some random grassy area we discovered. We went into a Dunkin Donuts that was sold out of 75% of their stock. We stood along Broad Street and watched people climb trees, drink beer, and wait anxiously for the team caravan to pass by. It was the best morning ever for Eagles fans! Later we went home and watched Jason Kelce’s historical speech on the art museum steps from the comfort of our couch. Still to this day, I believe that his speech was the most relatable speech ever for Philadelphia sports fans.

20180208_092803
Eagles Super Bowl parade!

I attended my interview for grad school and prayed that they would accept me.

Josh & I passed the time by going for trail runs in the cold.

I also took Gwin on a hike with Jess & McGee. Gwin prefers running, not hiking.

I decided not to train for an ultramarathon this year because I felt that my life schedule was too busy and unpredictable to fully dedicate to a long race. Instead, I opted for a nearby trail series in hopes of becoming a Regional champion for my age group.

By the end of February, I received my acceptance letter to my top choice for grad school! This was the best day ever because I was finally on the path of my dreams! I remember calling Josh to tell him first. Then I called my mom, who shared the news with my dad. I called my grandparents. I called Angela. And then I went for a celebratory run. Classic me.

20180226_201755
The day I got accepted to grad school

Josh & I attended more Flyers games together and ate big slices of stadium pizza.

As usual, I celebrated the first day of spring with a free Rita’s Water Ice.

On the second day of spring (my birthday), we had a huge snowstorm so Josh couldn’t come over. I made the most of the snowy birthday inside by playing board games. Once the snow slowed, I convinced my parents & Gwin to come out for a snowy trail run. We made it 1.5 miles from home, posed excitedly for a snow selfie, and 5 seconds later a snow-covered tree branch snapped, hit my back, and slammed me to the ground. Hello, 24th birthday! We spent the 1.5 mile run back towards home in fear of more falling branches/trees. The welt on my shoulder blade stayed for a few days. Nothing out of the ordinary for my life. Perhaps even an exaggerated metaphor.

20180321_152800
Infamous selfie before the branch hit me

I competed in the Xterra Brandywine 12k for the 2nd year in a row and defended my 2nd place finish on the podium.

I missed training for ultras.

I started a new blog section called “OT Chronicles” to document my experiences through grad school and beyond!

I raced a 5k for the first time in 3+ years and shared the #1 podium spot with Josh as the male & female winners of the race.

sasquatch winners
Our 5k winnings

I really missed going to Hyner for race weekend.

Desiree Linden won the Boston Marathon in epic weather conditions. Sara Sellers came in 2nd and everyone in the running world was wondering who she was. Now she’s a sponsored Altra athlete!

I raced the Xterra Lums Pond 12k and finished 3rd overall female. I also fell ½ mile into the race and ran the remaining 6+ miles with bloody knees and an achy elbow. The paramedics took care of me at the finish line (infection prevention, people!). Josh & I then hustled to the NICA race the local mountain bike team was hosting and I hobbled around for the rest of the day while cheering the kids on.

I worked a race expo for Sparkly Soul all by myself for the first time ever. I even got interviewed by NBC 10 because they loved the unicorn headbands (which I absolutely hate so it was ironic). My interview was shown on TV and Josh came to the realization that he was dating someone famous.

I started working at wine festivals with a local winery. They were very fun but very exhausting to work. My right arm hurt after my first ever wine festival day from pouring so many tastings repetitively for 5 hours straight.

I attended the wine festival in Josh’s town with his family. Good company and good wine indeed!

Josh and I mountain biked together as much as possible. Trail therapy is the best therapy.

I continued to miss training for and racing ultras.

I ran the Xterra Wetlands 10k. It was muddy and I finished as the 3rd female. This was my least favorite race of the trail series.

Sneakers & Spokes hosted an Altra demo day and we had 15 people attend! It was great and my Altra heart was happy!

I stopped working in retail.

Josh & I flew out west and explored! We visited Angela & Phil in Colorado, explored Moab on mountain bikes, and visited Michael in Utah. I could go on and on about everything that we saw and did because it was truly the greatest six day adventure ever! But I won’t go on and on because I have two separate, lengthy blog posts about it on my blog already. Go check ‘em out!

I am still eternally grateful that Josh & I got to go on our Colorado-Utah adventure together. I am so glad that we got to see so many beautiful mountains with our hosts – the Dunn’s and Michael. We got to run and hike in places that were absolutely breathtaking. We got to mountain bike on trails that were challenging yet had rewarding vistas. I will also remember our trip together and the experiences we shared!

received_2171926906368757
Running in Colorado
received_2171926983035416
Mtb in Moab
imagejpeg_02234 (1)
hiking in Utah

With altitude training on my side, I snagged some QOMs on my bike.

I started working at the winery’s tasting room once a week for the remainder of the summer. I worked one of the more quiet days of the week but I enjoyed the atmosphere and my responsibilities.

Josh & I planted our garden together for the 2nd year in a row. It was a sad garden this year because the wind destroyed half of our plants during a summer storm and nothing grew too well. I guess we needed to replenish the “special dirt” we got in 2017. Maybe next year.

I continued to coach runners and do personal training sessions with clients.

Lance, Josh’s dog, who was 15 years young passed away. His snuggles, prances, and love of human food will be cherished forever.

I also finished the 4th and final race of the Xterra series. I finished the Big Elk 1/2-marathon as the 4th overall female and 1st in my age group. I had achieved my goal of becoming regional champion and the long-sleeve they sent me a few months later was totally worth it! However, I’m going to give this series a rest for some time because 1) grad school and 2) I want ultras back in my life.

After the race, Josh & I ate brunch with Jess & Steve on Main Street. Those breakfast tater tots were the best!

Within less than two months, I started to miss Colorado and Utah.

I organized a road bike ride to a local Alex’s Lemonade Stand. We enjoyed water ice at 10 AM and got to enjoy a long bike ride on a perfect Saturday morning!

On July 4th, I ran the annual Pitman 4 Miler as a family tradition. My Altra Escalantes helped me run my 3rd fastest course time, finish 3rd in my age group, and finish in the top 7 female finishers. I also didn’t feel overly nauseous after I finished which is always a good thing.

After racing the 4 miler, Josh & I drove to the Woodstown 4th of July parade to ride in the parade with the Salem County Reactors. I felt sort of out of place but it was fun nonetheless!

Less than one week later, I raced my first mountain bike race of the 2018 and finished on the podium for THE FIRST TIME EVER! This was the highlight of my cycling year because I had never been on the podium at a mountain bike race before! Finishing 2nd was an awesome feeling, especially since I started in the back of the pack. I hope that in 2019 I can improve on my 2nd place and step up on the podium again!

imagejpeg_0pod
My 1st mtb podium!

I cheered Josh on at many mountain bike races and I took my job as his crew very seriously.

Josh & I attended a local food truck festival. We ate delicious tater tots!

I biked to a winery with the Sneakers & Spokes crew, did yoga in the vineyard, enjoyed a glass of wine, and then biked back to town.

I got really pissed off at township workers for talking down to me when I questioned what they were doing to a local trail. Idiots!

The Altra Superiors became my go-to shoe for trail running. I love them!

My dad hosted a women’s mountain bike clinic and it was so awesome! Fourteen ladies shredding the trail together?! It doesn’t get any better than that!

received_1005659916262021
Girl power!

I started riding in the faster group for group rides. The first time I attempted I only was able to hang on for half of the ride. The second time I attempted, I was able to hang on for all but the last 3 miles of the ride. I was so happy that I could keep up with “the fast guys”; this was an accomplishment for me!

Josh & I biked to a food truck festival at Fort Mott. Typical us.

I attended grad school orientation where I got to meet some of my classmates and professors. It made me very excited to start the semester!

Josh & I went for an after work trail run and got stuck in a torrential downpour and thunderstorm. No worries, we took shelter at The Loufa Hut.

Sneakers & Spokes celebrated its 3rd anniversary!

I ordered a total of 10 textbooks for my 1st semester of grad school. TEN!

I was offered a position as a graduate assistant to offset tuition costs. Thank goodness for financial aid!

I volunteered Angela to be a guest on a podcast and somehow then got persuaded to be on the podcast myself. It was fun and I really enjoyed talking about running and cycling with Diz Runs Radio!

I raced my 2nd mountain bike race of the year. My bike wasn’t shifting right but I got to crew Josh’s first endurance race which was more fun than racing myself!

Josh & I spent a staycation weekend together. We went mountain biking, had a lovely night out in Chesapeake City, and went trail running/hiking at a state park we had never been to before – Susquehanna State Park! It was a great way to end the summer!

I still think that my dogs are the most adorable dogs in the world.

On September 5th, I started grad school. My parents were in Utah visiting Michael so Josh stayed over the night before and took my 1st day of school picture! We also took a selfie together before he left for work. I was officially “a first year”.

imagejpeg_0schoolselfie
1st day of grad school!

After a very long Twitter hiatus, I decided to tweet once per day until I graduate from grad school. Some days I forget though but I always make it up by combining two days into one tweet….

I participated in a local 9/11 run for the 2nd year in a row. I wore my purple Altra Escalantes and red, white, and blue socks – a colorful combo.

School took over my life and I spent less and less time running and riding and a lot more time sitting and studying.

The Flyers hired Gritty. I still have mixed feelings about him….

Josh & I attended Oktoberfest in Delaware for the 3rd year in a row. I am always the DD.

I became more and more grateful for the time that I did get to spend running or biking, even if it was only for 30 minutes every other day.

I raced Shred the Edge – my 3rd and final mountain bike race of 2018. I crashed really hard within the first 1.5 miles. I spent the next 11ish miles in pain and I came in last; however, I did have fun! It was a good day for the local mountain bike race!

IMG_20181020_200206_202
Shred the Edge

The next weekend, I raced my first ever cyclocross race. I finished as the 3rd female and had a lot of fun! I hope that I can do one or two cyclocross races in 2019!

I made two new friends while writing a 26-page group paper on obesity with them! We promised each other brunch for a job well done on our paper.

My car surpassed 300,000 miles.

My family celebrated my cousin’s marriage. There was good wine and good dancing!

My car got flooded out on my commute to school after I drove through a very deep puddle in a jug handle. Classic me. That was an extremely stressful morning but luckily my dad was able to fix it. I only got to class an hour and 15 minutes late…

I attended the AOTA Student Conclave conference in Atlantic City in November. I learned a lot about occupational therapy practice in a variety of settings and with a variety of populations. I really really enjoyed learning about travel therapy! I also got to reconnect with a classmate I attended undergrad with who is also in OT school in Delaware! We got to meet Amy Lamb, the AOTA president, and attend sessions together. The Student Conclave was an awesome experience and I am so grateful that I got to attend both days because I learned so much and fell more in love with the profession.

20181109_155348
Student Conclave

Josh & I attended a Flyers game and tailgated beforehand with good drinks and frisbee. The Flyers lost that game but we had a great date day nonetheless!

I analyzed a video of my dad clicking a computer mouse for far too many hours. That project was the worst!

I celebrated my 5th year of vegetarianism.

On Thanksgiving day, I bundled up in 5 layers and ran 6 miles. Then Josh and I went to dinner at Jess’s with his family and then had dessert at my house with my family. I played Bananagrams with my cousin.

Classes got very stressful, but by one project at a time, assignments were being crossed off the list.

I made more OT friends.

I twisted my ankle trail running at night. I was very unhappy and my ankle was very swollen.

My mom and I volunteered at a Flyers charity event for military families. We got to meet a lot of Flyers and we helped military families celebrate Christmas together!

I was given my Level I Fieldwork placement for the spring semester. I will be in a school-based setting.

I survived finals week without becoming too sleep-deprived. Study groups kept me sane and I made more friends in the process!

Part of my class celebrated the end of our first semester by having brunch (the promised brunch from the obesity paper group) at IHOP. It was nice to bond with classmates outside of the classroom and to celebrate surviving our first semester of grad school together!

48421800_10213949270511380_6181110825512599552_n
IHOP with friends

School ended and I felt free to run and bike whenever I desired! It has been the best feeling ever to run guilt-free!

Josh & I went on a Christmas light run together through his town.

I organized a Santa run through Sneakers & Spokes. It was a success because 58 people went running festively through Woodstown and everyone had a fun time!

I supported local businesses while shopping for Christmas gifts. 85% of my gifts came from local businesses which I am super proud of!

My family cut down our Christmas tree from the front yard.

I got a new bike for Christmas and I love it!

I got to reunite with friends from high school while they were back in NJ for Christmas.

Angela came back to NJ from Colorado so we got to run together!

I initiated a shoe recycling program for retired shoes as a fundraiser for the local mountain bike team. I’m excited about this because I feel guilty throwing my retired running shoes out. I’m glad that my collection of shoes can have a second home now.

I got to ride my new bike at Fair Hill with Josh!

Running Stats of 2018:

  • Total Miles: 1,064 miles
  • Highest monthly mileage: March (136.1 miles)
  • Five trail races – Brandywine 12k, Sasquatch 5k, Lums Pond 12k, Wetlands 10k, Big Elk Half-Marathon
  • One road race – Pitman 4 Miler
  • Shoes worn: Altra Escalantes, Altra Superiors
  • States I ran in (5 total) – New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Colorado, Utah

Biking Stats of 2018:

  • Total Miles: 1,257.9 miles
  • Highest monthly mountain bike mileage: August (76.3 miles)
  • Highest monthly road bike mileage: June (248.4 miles)
  • Highest monthly combined mileage: June (324.1 miles)
  • Highest weekly cycling mileage: 105.2 miles
  • Total Road Bike Miles: 832.7 miles
  • Total Mountain Bike Miles: 425.2 miles
  • Mountain bike races (3) – Fair Hill Classic, Big Elk, Shred the Edge
  • 1 cyclocross race – Salem County Witching Hour

2018 brought fewer running miles but more cycling miles. All these woman-powered miles make me excited for 2019’s miles. Running & cycling were not prioritized once grad school began, but I am determined to integrate running/cycling into my daily & weekly routine once my spring semester begins because these activities are important to me.

These statistics are merely numbers. These numbers were oftentimes accumulated side-by-side or stride-for-stride with others. For that, I am grateful. The running & cycling community I am a part of has grown immensely in 2018 and I hope that it continues to expand in 2019.

I am proud of my race performances this year and I hope that I can compete in both running and mountain bike (and cyclocross?) races in the upcoming new year. With my dependable Altras, my loyal Fuji Finest, and my new Rocky Mountain Thunderbolt I am motivated to put forth solid training and determined racing.

This year has been full of amazing experiences and fresh starts. I am grateful for all the opportunities that have been given to me this year which makes it somewhat difficult to put 2018 to rest.

However, I know that 2019 brings me one year closer to achieving my goal of becoming an OT. I know that 2019 will bring me stronger friendships. I know that 2019 will bring me adventures on my own two feet and while balanced on two wheels. I know that 2019 will be a year of great challenge yet great victories. I am excited to see what 2019 will bring and how I will become a stronger, more determined person.

I am thankful for all of what 2018 has given me. I am excited for what 2019 will become.

In good health….happy new year, everyone!

20180706_204814

Leave a comment